Death certificates are available in Alaska from January 1913 to the present. However, access is valid for 50 years after the death of an individual under the Alaska Law. Those who request a copy of the Alaska death certificate must be a child, a brother, a wife or a parent of the deceased person. If you are not related to the deceased or are under 50, you must also provide a letter or document from the requesting agency. In addition to the form to be filled out, all applications must include a copy of a valid identity card (with signature) from the applicant. This identifier must be magnified, hidden, and highlighted when sent to the office.
Because of the confidentiality of requests for vital records, the recommendation is that applications should be issued or faxed. A signed application form must be submitted to:
Bureau of Vital Statistics
5441 Commercial Blvd.
Juno, Alaska 99801
You will need to know the name of the deceased, the date of death, the city, the city, the village, the reason for the request and the relationship with the deceased.
Phone calls can be made to the Alaska Bureau of Vital Statistics to confirm receipt of fax at (907) 465-1481, Monday to Friday, from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm Alaska time.
If you want to order online, just visit the Vital Check website.
Orders sent by US mail or fax will be processed within 3 to 5 business days upon receipt. Each certified copy of the certified death certificate is $ 20, which is non-refundable. If no record is found, a $ 20 search fee will be included for a period of 3 years and the search statement will be issued. For an extended search there is an additional charge of $ 1 per year. Credit cards are accepted for a surcharge.
If you have additional questions, you should contact the Juneau Records Processing Unit at (907) 465-3391.